Les Phillips Cup

The League Cup

History of the League Cup

Our league cup is named after a former Chairman of the league, Les Phillips. He is noted for bringing sponsorship to the league. In 1973, Les was elected Chairman. Many have said that this was a 'milestone' in the league's history. With a broad smile and a booming voice, Les assured everyone that he would do everything in his power to help the league make further progress. And progress it did. A sponsorship deal with Rothmans followed worth £10,000 per season. And so the 1974/75 season kicked off as The Rothmans Western Football League.

Do you remember the Great Mills Western League? That was Les Phillips too. The deal was announced at Ashton Court on Tuesday 27th April 1982 by Peter Bastin of Great Mills and Lawrie McMenemy. The sponsorship deal was worth £100,000 over five years and introduced a 'pounds-for-goals' bonus system.

In 1988, Les Phillips passed away. This was a great shock. The man who had given so much to the league was gone. It was therefore decided to re-name the Challenge Cup after Les and the first winners in the 1988/89 season were Exmouth Town.

Having a cup named after you may not be much reward for a man who had given so much to Western League Football, but his name will always be remembered and live on in the Les Phillips Cup.

The trophy itself started life in the 1954/55 season as The Western Football League Professional Challenge Cup. This new cup which cost £45-9s-0d was only open to professional clubs. In those days there was a distinction between professional and amateur clubs in the league. Poole were the first team to win the cup having beaten Frome.

In 1961/62 The Professional Challenge Cup was renamed 'The Challenge Cup' and the first winners were Bristol City Reserves.

For the 2012/13 season the cup was sponsored for the first time by Termination Technology of St. George, Bristol. This enabled payments to be made to the winners in each round of the cup.

Source. 'A View From The Terraces - 100 Years of The Western Football League 1892-1992 by Sandie & Doug Webb

Cup Draw

Preliminary Round
Bishop Sutton21Bitton
Cadbury Heath31Oldland Abbotonians
Calne Town13Gillingham Town
Chard Town11Welton Rovers
After Extra Time 21
Cribbs11Sherborne Town
After Extra Time 31
Longwell Green Sports31Keynsham Town
Odd Down (Bath)15Bridport
Radstock Town22Malmesbury Victoria
After Extra Time 22
Penalties 42
Roman Glass St George62Chippenham Park
Street41Wincanton Town
First Round
Almondsbury UWE12Shepton Mallet
Bishops Lydeard33Gillingham Town
After Extra Time 46
Brislington02Bradford Town
Bristol Manor Farm100Devizes Town
Buckland Athletic52Chard Town
Cadbury Heath04Hengrove Athletic
Chipping Sodbury Town42Clevedon Town
Corsham Town01Cribbs
Melksham Town20Bishop Sutton
Portishead Town02Hallen
Radstock Town03Warminster Town
Roman Glass St George21Longwell Green Sports
Wells City04Ashton and Backwell Utd
Westbury United32Cheddar
Willand Rovers31Bridport
Second Round
Ashton and Backwell Utd02Shepton Mallet
Buckland Athletic21Chipping Sodbury Town
Gillingham Town21Bradford Town
Roman Glass St George10Bristol Manor Farm
Warminster Town23Melksham Town
Wellington01Hengrove Athletic
Westbury United02Willand Rovers
Quarter Final
Melksham Town10Buckland Athletic
Roman Glass St George13Gillingham Town
Shepton Mallet13Cribbs
Willand Rovers10Hengrove Athletic
Semi Final
Cribbs11Willand Rovers
After Extra Time 11
Penalties 1110
Gillingham Town01Melksham Town
Melksham Town00Cribbs
After Extra Time 00
Penalties 54